CLHF Member Groups

The members of the Federation are a mix of individuals and groups whose interests involve the local history of Cumbria. The member groups can be contacted as shown:

Alston Moor Historical Society

Email: Website:

Society Online Archive:

Ambleside & District U3A

Contact: Co-ordinator Joan Carus / Phone: 015394 48770

Ambleside Oral History Group

Contact: Jane Renouf. Email: Website:

Appleby-in-Westmorland Society

Contact:  Chris Wilson / Email: chris.wilson09@btinternet.  Barry McKay / Email:

Armitt Library & Museum

Contact: - Email:; Tel: 015394 31212

Arnside Education Institute Archive Group


Asby History Group

Contact: The Secretary, Mr Keith Cooper / Email:

Askam & Ireleth Local History Group

Contact: Mr Michael Cumming / Tel: 01229 468277

Bampton & District Local History Soc

Contact: The Secretary Christine Hill / Website:

Barrow Civic & Local History Society

Contact: Vanessa Allen  (Chair): Email: / Website: (ALSO

Burton Holme & District LHS


Caldbeck & District Local History Society


Carlisle History Group

Contact: The Treasurer Sheila Oaten / Email:

Cartmel Fell & District Local History Society

Contact: Josephine Viney / Email:

Cartmel Peninsula Local History Society

Contact: Barbara Copeland / Website:

Coanwood Featherstone Lambley History Group inc. Tindale Knarsdale Kirkhaugh.

Email:  Facebook:

Archive website

Cockermouth Heritage Group

Contact: email: /

Coniston Local History Group


Cumbria Amenity Trust Mining History Society

Contact: /  Website:

Cumbria County History Trust

Contact: Email:

Cumbria Family History Society

Contact: Website:

Cumbria Industrial History Society

Contact: The Secretary Helen Caldwell / Email:

Cumbria Library Service

Contact: Kate Holliday. Email:

Cumbrian Railways Association

Contact: The Secretary Mr Michael Warhurst / Email:


Cumbria Vernacular Buildings Group

Contact: / Website:

Cumberland & Westmorland Antiquarian & Archaeological Society (CWAAS)


CWAAS Carlisle Group

Contact: The Secretary Mr Tim Padley /  Email /

Dalton Local History Society

Contact:  Secretary Sheana Bark /Email:

Distington Family & Local History Society

Contact: The Secretary / Email:

Drigg Local History Group

Contact: Email: /  Phone: 019467 24014

Duddon Valley Local History Group

Contact: Website:

Friends of Helena Thompson Museum

Contact: The Secretary, Friends of Helena Thompson Museum, Park End Rd, Workington CA14 4DE

Friends of Keswick Museum

Contact: Mrs Patricia Howell / Email:

Furness Family History Society

Contact: Email:

Hesket Local History Group

Contact: Mr Richard J. Preston: Email:

History of Kirkby Group

Contact: the Secretary: Angela Moss: Website:

Holme & District  - see Burton Holme

Kendal Historical & Archaeological Society (CWAAS)

Contact: Membership Secretary: Lynda Merril / Email:

Kendal Oral History Group

Contact: 01539 722439 / Website:

Kirkby Lonsdale & District Civic Society

Contact:  Email: The Secretary: / Website:

Kirkoswald & Renwick History Group

Contact: Mr Dick O'Brien / Phone: 01768 254057

Lamplugh and District Heritage Society



Levens Local History Group

Contact: Mr Allan Steward / Website:

Lorton & Derwent Fells Local History Society

Contact: The Secretary / Email:  Website:  

Archive website

Lowther and Askham History and Archaeological Society

Contact: The Secretary / Phone: 01931 712448   Email:

Maryport Heritage Society

Contact: The Secretary, Roger Nash.  Email:


Contact: Simone Faulkner / Email:

Morecambe Bay Archaeological Society

Contact: Ms Bridget Gerry / Email:

Morecambe Bay Partnership

Contact:  Email: Website:

Mourholme Local History Society (for Carnforth, Warton & Silverdale)

Contact: Mr Andrew G. Davies / Phone: 01524 701429 / Email: / Website:

Nenthead Mines Conservation Society

Contact: Email:  Phone: 0749 449 7868

Newland Furnace Trust

Contact: The Secretary Mr David Robson / Email:

North Lonsdale History Society

Contact: Mr David Fellows / Phone: 01229 583565

Open Mind (WestlakesU3A)

Contact: Dr David Huyton / Website:

Ravenstonedale Parish History Group

Contact: The Treasurer & Membership Secretary Val Fermer; email

Archive website

Richard III Society (Penrith & North Lakes Group)

Contact: The Secretary / Email:

Sedbergh & District History Society

Contact: Email: / Website:

Archive website

Shap Local History Society

Contact:  Email: Jean Jackson, Chair:


Skiddaw U3A Local History Group

Contact via  Email:

Bill Richardson :

South West Cumbria History & Archaeology Society (CWAAS)

Contact: Sharon Arrowsmith: Email: 
Mr Chris Reay (01946 841330), Email:

Staveley & District History Society

Contact: The Chair Dr John Hiley,Woodside Cottage, Ings, Kendal LA8 9PY / Email:

The Friends of St Mary's Church, Wreay

Contact: Treasurer/Mike Jones   Website/

The Wordsworth Trust

Contact: Phone: 015394 35544 /  Email:

Ulverston & District Civic Society

Contact: The Secretary  J. Hancock  Email:

Upper Eden History Society

Contact: The Treasurer J.M Poulson / Email:

Waberthwaite History Group

Contact: The Secretary Ruth Sutton / Email:

Warwick Bridge Local History Group

Contact: The Hon. Treasurer:  Graham Brooks / Email:

West Cumbria Archaeological Society

Contact: Email: / Facebook: / Post:  c/o 11 Currock Park Avenue, Carlisle, CA2 4DH /

West Lakes U3A